Sidetracked



Life

Lately it seems there are pregnant women everywhere. They are even invading my life; this circle that surrounds me as I go about my daily business. I have good friends who are expecting, family members who are expecting, my yoga instructor is expecting. I’m dumbfounded when I hear of my friends’ news about their impending arrivals, something they are so excited for, like it’s a pretty new bag they just ordered online. I find myself having trouble finding the means to take care of a puppy.

My parents had two babies when they were my age. They were married with two small children, and they were just barely scraping by. Talk about living on the edge.

Another part of me is completely fascinated by all of these growing bellies. My yoga instructor, Lycra stretched across her swollen stomach, goes from a Standing Forward Bend to Warrior III pose so effortlessly. How do they walk around like that, sharing their bodies with another person, and not be completely consumed by what’s going on in there? How do they not freak out?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * mike says:

    Wait, you got a puppy?

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  2. * rebekah says:

    No, but I want one!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  3. * ~A says:

    I was going to ask the very same thing.

    I hardly ever freak out when I’m sharing someone else’s body but,
    I’ll admit, I do completely consumed by what’s going on in there.

    …walking around; that’s a whole other matter though – it’s a little bit freaky when that happens.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  4. * jen says:

    Some of them do freak out. Not that I’d know anything about that. 😉

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago


Leave a Reply

