Sidetracked


« Germs | Home | Stymied »

Happy Fourth*

My fondest memories of the Fourth of July were those spent lying on a blanket and staring up at the sky in anticipation of fireworks, a full hour of ewwwing and awwwing with my family and friends.

Last year was such a let down. No one was interested in watching fireworks in the rain, so they sat on the couch watching Lost instead. In a fit of annoyance and homesickness for my family and our traditions, I grabbed an umbrella, stood at the bend in the street and watched the colors burst above the trees. It was a bit melodramatic. But you’d be hard pressed to find a moment in my life that isn’t a bit melodramatic.

The year before that I practically dragged Dave to the Lakewood Country Club where I settled for a grassy median to perch on and gazed at a 15 minute show. By the end, I was more irritated by his lack of ewwwing and awwwing than I would have been had I missed the show entirely. Maybe I was expecting too much.

This year I just gave up. I picked up a shift at work, because I need the money, and there are storms in the forecast this evening anyway. But there’s still hope. At least I’ll be among friends, there will be lots of tasty food nearby, and we can watch the lightning dance across sky from the drive-through window.

* I thought of using that quote from Jack Kerouac’s On the Road as the title for this post. You know the one I’m talking about. But that quote is so overused and that irritates me to no end. Obviously, this is another post entirely.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Rebekah says:

    Update:

    1. Woke up feeling sicker than I had the day before.
    2. Started my period, and there weren’t any tampons in the house.
    3. Got a flat tire on my way to buy tampons an hour before work, and no one was open to fix it, because it was a holiday.
    4. Ruined my diet by eating a ton of chips and salsa and a couple of brownies that coworkers brought to work.
    5. Sat on the curb outside the store and watched fireworks coming from Zilker Park.
    6. In a moment of weakness, brought home half a pan of brownies.

    I’m so glad that’s over with.

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  2. * lauren says:

    Mmmm. Brownies.

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  3. * sidetracked says:

    Tell me about it. This is a major test of my willpower.

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago


Leave a Reply

