Sidetracked



Stymied

I’ve had this problem over the past few months. I wake up some mornings with puffy eyelids. Sometimes they are so puffy that I can barely open them and they kind of resemble snake eyes. Sometimes they are only puffy on the inside corners and look like cat eyes. It doesn’t hurt or itch. It’s just really annoying, because I have to go out in public with snake or cat eyes and interact with people, which involves making eye contact. I can tell they don’t know what to make of my puffy eyes, like they aren’t sure if I’m supposed to look this way, or perhaps I have a problem, or maybe my boyfriend beats me and I’ve managed to cover the black and blue with concealer.

At first I thought the problem was related to doing inversion poses in yoga. Usually when lots of blood flows to one area of the body it can cause, um, swelling. Anyway. I’ve been slacking with the yoga, so that’s ruled out. I also thought it might be water retention, but what could be making me retain water all of a sudden? I’ve always eaten lots of salty foods, so that’s ruled out too. I don’t know what to make of this. I’m dreading the morning that I have to go to work with puffy eyes.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * mike says:

    Something like this happened to me a few weeks ago and kind of freaked me out. It wasn’t my eyelid that was puffy as much as the area right next to the bridge of my nose and under my eyebrow. I thought I was getting elderly or something, but it gradually went away in a few hours and hasn’t come back since. But yeah, it’s kind of unsettling.

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  2. * rebekah says:

    Haha…elderly.

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  3. * Rebekah says:

    Update: In case anyone else has this problem, I read in Woman’s Day Magazine, while waiting for my new tires, that tea bags are good for reducing eye puffiness.

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  4. * ~A says:

    avocado and cucumber, also.

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  5. * lauren says:

    I think I have the opposite problem. Often, when I wake up not having had a lot of sleep I get these sunken in death pocket things under my eyes. What do you do for that?

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  6. * ~A says:

    puddin’. Fill with puddin’.

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  7. * ~v says:

    oh ~A, is that why there are always dozens of puddin’ cups around your house? Rebekah, have you tried changing your eye make-up (if you wear any)? Sometimes you can begin to develop allergies to eye make-up/removers/soaps that cause redness and inflammation.

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  8. * Rebekah says:

    I thought that might be the problem. I should probably invest in some new brushes, too.

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago


Leave a Reply

