Sidetracked



Six Hour Shift

4:00 a.m.

Alarm clock goes off, Dave nudges me awake. *Oh, God. Why is this happening?*

5:00 a.m.

Arrive at work. It’s still dark out. *I don’t know about this.*

5:30 a.m.

Arranging pastries, starting to wake up, have yet to put a headset on, even though I’m in the drive-through today. I’m hoping to put off talking to people for as long as possible.

5:50 a.m.

Downing two espresso shots with half a pump of vanilla and half a pump mocha.

6:00 a.m.

I’ve got my headset on, I’m feeling good. Bring it.

7:00 a.m.

Am I ready to take a break? Psht, whatever. I could totally do this all day.

8:00 a.m.

You had the…?

That’ll be…

Here’s your…

Have a great day!

You had the…?

That’ll be…

Here’s your…

Have a great day!

Lather, rinse, repeat. I, am, a machine.

9:00 a.m.

“Here’s your double tall nonfat extra hot mocha.”

*Customer takes a sip*

“This mocha is really hot.”

“Would you like us to remake it?”

“No, I’ll wait for it to cool off. It’s just really hot.”

Uh huh.

I start to roll my eyes and frown between customers. The rude ones are really starting to get to me.

9:30 a.m.

Break time?! Hell yes!

10:05 a.m.

Every time a customer pulls up to the menu board a bell goes off. This gives me a great idea for a movie. A movie about baristas and coffee bars and the craziness of the morning rush!

10:06 a.m.

*I don’t want to talk nicely to the people anymore.* I begin telling my drive-through partner about the fabulousness that will happen in less than one hour. I will get off work. My drive-through partner hates me now.

11:00 a.m.

Climbing into truck. *That wasn’t so bad.*

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * mike says:

    “Oh, God. Why is this happening?”

    At first I thought it was Dave saying this, which made it twice as funny.

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  2. * Rebekah says:

    Mike, Dave probably was thinking that.

    L, we should all go on vacation there.

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  3. * Rebekah says:

    Are you feeling bitter, ~A? You and V can come to Portland, too!

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  4. * ~A says:

    You must by high on Starbucks double shot half pump extra hot coffee pots.
    Any article that has to convince me that a place is worthy of a visit despite all the rain that rains nonstop upon all the people getting rained upon all the time by all the rain rain onmygoditsrainingagain rain is not really something I’m going to look a lot more into… Take, for instance, Paris: Paris gets a good amount of rain each year but you’ll never see an article that states, “Paris finds ways to endear itself to all her visitors, rain or shine – and, really, there’s a lot of friggin’ rain but, really, don’t let that sway you it’s, like, totally worth it. We swear.”

    No, I think you all have a very worthy place with a very worthy person worthy of visiting and that’s all I’ll put up with today. If ain’t here it should be Greece or Turkey or… Ibiza or something. :o)

    (I haven’t slept and last night, when I made a go at it, I was tugged from my nascent slumber by a ringing that successfully wrung the sleep out of me for a good 2.5 hours. I’m very, very punchy today.)

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  5. * ~A says:

    btw: “Yes sir, we take “extra hot” very seriously; it’ll be perfect when you get to work.” * smile * “Move along now, the extra hot mocha for the person behind you is becoming just-regular-hot.” * curt smile *

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  6. * Rebekah says:

    Well, I’ve been thinking about places to move to, and Portland has come up a few times in the last month as a possibility.

    Admittedly, I’ve never been to Portland, but I have family there and a friend about to move there and Dave has visited the city, and I haven’t heard anything bad about it. It seems to fit my personality. I’ve also been thinking about a few places in Northern California.

    My point is, while I would LOVE to visit you in Los Angeles, the next time I spend money on a plane ticket it will be to a place I’m seriously considering moving to. It is nothing against you, I hope you know. You’re one of my favorite people.

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  7. * lauren says:

    hey ~A. I was gonna try to convince people to come here for Thanksgiving since we’re gonna have the big dining room and all, but maybe we should come to LA?

    Thoughts?

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  8. * ~A says:

    Three things that I’m going to make up right now:

    1. I have a terrific house with nice living room and dining room.

    2. The weather is sure to be nicer than any where else. Also, it can be pretty nice in TX during that time but it’s sure to be nicer here.

    3. I have an awesome kitchen that can totally handle a home-cooked Thanksgiving meal with compromise.

    Also, since you all like to eat these are some of the festivals held here in November:
    Apple Butter Festival
    Tamale Festival
    Valley Wine Festival
    and, most exciting, World Vegan Day

    …yup, all that and more, baby.

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  9. * ~A says:

    one of my favorite people to not visit!

    Nothing against me, huh. You know what’s included in those things not against me? Your platonic embrace of greeting upon your arrive; Your shoulder while we watch some special release of some classic movie in of our historic movie theaters… those are also not against me.

    (you know I’m totally joking, right?)

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  10. * ~A says:

    dammit! without compromise.

    alright. I’m getting back to work now.

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  11. * ~v says:

    I want to go to portland, thanks rebekah. sorry about the ringing last night ~A.

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  12. * Rebekah says:

    I’m going to the lake. See you guys later.

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  13. * mike says:

    Oh, God. Why is this happening?

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago


Leave a Reply

