Sidetracked



Back in the game

I’ve been really sick twice in the past month. Because of this I haven’t been doing Ashtanga, opting instead for easy going Hatha or moderately difficult Kundalini. So much time had passed that I began to fear Ashtanga. Ashtanga became this school yard bully that I was sure would call me fat and then kick my ass if I decided to confront her. Today I worked up the nerve to go to class.

One side of the room is always lined with the hard core Ashtanga people. They are men and women in their 50s with rock solid bodies. They look smugly across the room at me, the spring chick with the soft rolls and folds, and I feel like such a wuss. One of the pros stretches and complains of an upper-respiratory illness she’s getting over. Another pro looks down at her and points to the room down the hall, “Why don’t you go to Hatha?” The sickly one sucks it up.

I made it through the 90 minute class, only skipping two Chataranga Dandasanas to mop up the sweat dripping into my eyes. Sitting out for these positions is a definite signal to everyone else that you just can’t handle it. The pros don’t skip anything. Annick came by a couple of times to adjust my arms and poke at my ribs with her sharp nails.

I was glad when it was over. My entire body felt limp and each muscle irritated from stretching and pulling. But I want to go back. I want to show up the pros, make them envy me.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * mike says:

    I like the Chataranga Dandasanas with carne asada and extra sour cream.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  2. * lauren says:

    I think I need a personal trainer or boot camp or something. ugh.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  3. * ~v says:

    my favorite pose is shavasana. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  4. * Amy Bo Bamy says:

    Gosh. This is really scaring the hell out of me!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  5. * Rebekah says:

    oooh shavasana

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago


Leave a Reply

