Sidetracked



So endearing

Dave has this funny thing that he does where he buys a new article of clothing, like a pair of jeans, a bright red T-shirt or the crisp blue Simpsons T-shirt he bought at the Alamo Drafthouse, and then makes me swear to him I will not wash it with everything else, because the dye from the new clothing will bleed and ruin his other clothes. This makes me laugh for so many reasons. I really can’t explain all of the reasons to you, because that would take all day.

Each time I swear to him I will not wash his beautiful new clothing, I immediately forget we had that conversation. Then, when I realize I have no clean work clothes or yoga clothes or that comfy skirt I wanted to wear Friday night is dirty, I put everything in piles and throw a bunch of stuff in the washer, including his new clothes. I’ve been doing laundry long enough to know all of its ins and outs. And, unlike my boyfriend, I know that if you wash new jeans with a load of assorted darks, the world will not end. The load will make it to the dryer. And then it will be folded and put away. And he’ll go on living with clean clothes in their designated colors.

Sometimes I like to mess with him, though. Like I’ll say, “Dave, I’ve done something horrible! You know that new T-shirt you told me not to wash? I washed it…” And then I’ll watch as his face goes from confusion to anger to heart brake. And then I’ll tell him it’s okay.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * mike says:

    Awwwww. I just pooped my pants with glee.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  2. * lauren says:

    Mike likes to put my cashmere sweater in the dryer. Then he tells me it looks awesome when I put it on and it barely comes over my boobs because it has shrunk so much.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  3. * mike says:

    It’s a form-fitting belly sweater. I think it looks cool.

    You need to learn about high fashion.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  4. * Amy Bo Bamy says:

    I think that messing with your S.O. just for the sole purpose of witnessing the above-referenced facial expressions is pretty standard in all long-term relationships. I do it all the time to Scott and it always always cracks me up. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago


Leave a Reply

