Sidetracked



Needing a break

I’ve been doing a lot of worrying lately. I’m not sure why, but it seems like all of a sudden everything is uncertain. I worry about money; about taking the GRE; about getting into a grad school; about where I’d like to be; about taking out more loans; about getting a good job; about having good friends nearby; about visiting my family; about losing touch with old friends; about being a good daughter, granddaughter, sister, friend, girlfriend. I’m worried that the decisions I’ve made may not have been the right ones. I’m worried about other people’s health and well being. I’m worried that I worry so much.

So I went to yoga today, took some deep breaths and tried to let go. But I can still feel it. I’ll go back tomorrow, take some more breaths and try again.

A really mean woman who comes to the coffee place regularly told everyone I needed an attitude adjustment. Everyone thought it was funny, because they know she’s the one with the problem. But I think she might be right. I could use an attitude adjustment.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * ~v says:

    “worrying is like a rocking chair; it gives you something to do but it doesn’t get you anywhere’

    maybe when you come to l.a. you and i can go shopping for new attitudes, we can just try on a bunch until we find ones we like

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  2. * mike says:

    The only thing you should be worried about is being a good girlfriend. That’s what I tell Lauren all the time. Forget about everything else. It’s the most important thing. Worry about it constantly and strive to be better.

    I’m going to start asking Dave for progress reports.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  3. * ~v says:

    alberto: earmuffs (and eye patches)

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  4. * Rebekah says:

    Huh?

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  5. * mike says:

    ~V is kickin’ it Old School. Recognize.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  6. * ~v says:

    Be extra nice to that woman. Like faux-Japanese nice to her; mean people hate that – but they can’t bitch about it.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  7. * ~A says:

    crap – that was Me and not Her.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  8. * Rebekah says:

    Yeah, I usually am very nice to her, but she caught me at a bad time.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  9. * ~A says:

    indeed, mike. earmuffs: old school. 10 pts. earmuff/eyepatches so alberto doesn’t get any funny ideas about progress reports and the like.

    R, you don’t have to be nice to her. punch her in the nose! while she’s holding her coffee so it spills!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  10. * ~v says:

    rats! that was ~v Me not ~A Him.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago


Leave a Reply

