Sidetracked



Silently scolding myself for feeling sorry for myself

Gosh, I’ve been busy.

I’m adjusting to functioning on no more than six hours of sleep. I’m basically always on autopilot, especially on days when I’ve only had four hours of sleep, fueled by copious amounts of iced coffee. I throw in a little bit of caramel and a splash of skim for some extra energy. I usually crash around 4 p.m.. The Job has me scheduled for mornings these days. I can’t really complain too much, since I need the money and the tips are better during the morning rush. I got a $10 tip this morning!

I was busy working on a three part writing test during my free time for a few days. This was for a possible job. They liked my work (I assume) enough to contact me for an interview. But then they acted like jerks and only offered me one time slot on one day. A day I happen to be scheduled to work. I’ve been sulking about it on and off.

I think this town is out to destroy me. It offers me nothing more than beautiful scenery. Since moving here it seems to be one major ordeal after the next. Maybe it’s just that the ordeals of adulthood are much more complicated that they were when I was just a student with bright ideas.

All I want is one break, even if it’s a small one. Meanwhile, I’ve got Charlie to make me smile when it feels like the hits just keep on coming.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * mike says:

    Yeah, the ordeals are part of the post-college process. Working for money is a pain in the ass and it pushes everything else aside. I still have that voice in the back of my head telling me this is no way to go through life.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  2. * Lauren says:

    Being an adult sucks.

    But you can eat cupcakes any time you want.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  3. * Rebekah says:

    Yeah, I tried the “eating cupcakes” thing last week and gained three pounds.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  4. * ~A says:

    The guy in the button-down up front is mocking your pain.

    And this guy, well, he’s just here ’cause I can’t figure out why his image – and of what he’s holding – are associated with the phrase I googled.

    You might try “2 cup cakes” and leave it at that.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  5. * ~A says:

    Why does your spam moderator think I’m a newbie here?
    sux

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  6. * sidetracked says:

    ~A, you’re right. The real issue is that when I let myself go (eat a cupcake), I really let myself go (eat a few cupcakes every day).

    And I don’t know why the comments are being screwy. They keep allowing spam on this one post and it’s driving me crazy!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  7. * ~A says:

    Diggin’ that photo.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 11 months ago


Leave a Reply

