Sidetracked



Another interview down

The seventy-two hour stretch was pretty good, but in the spirit of falling apart and putting myself back together, I picked up right where I left off.

I managed to find someone to swap shifts with me so I could make it to the job interview. Thank goodness I didn’t burn any bridges. I proceeded to drop $200 on a new suit, $200 I really didn’t have. This overspending turned into a meltdown after I balanced my checkbook. Dave talked me through it and followed me from store to store as I returned each item and got my money back. I made it to the interview and did my best to impress them, but not before engaging in one of my favorite past times. I like to call it Cutting-Myself-Down. It’s really easy, because I’m constantly comparing myself to my peers, or at least my “successful” peers, and finding all of the ways I don’t measure up.

Old habits certainly do die hard.

I’ve got the rest of the day off. I think I’ll spend it baking a chocolate pecan pie for our friends that recently moved here, watching crappy TV, and taking advantage of our newly working clothes dryer.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * mike says:

    Hey, we didn’t move there. Send the pie to Chicago.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  2. * ~A says:

    and I read nothing about a meditative hike.
    (also, good luck.)

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  3. * Lauren says:

    Pie. Pie. Pie. Pie.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  4. * Rebekah says:

    Mike, if you guys move to Austin I will bake y’all eleventy billion chocolate pecan pies. I’ll also throw in a lifetime supply of very delicious chocolate chip cookies.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  5. * ~v says:

    hope you’re well. not touching previous. ~A, got it? no touchy.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  6. * ~v says:

    I should write about pie.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  7. * ~v says:

    that was ~A. not me~v

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  8. * mike says:

    That was me, not ~V or ~A.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  9. * ~v says:

    THAT makes more sense.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  10. * mike says:

    No good news?

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  11. * ~A says:

    There was something else above this some time ago, no? You killin’ posts, lady?

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago


Leave a Reply

