Sidetracked



Spring Chicks

I’m thinking about becoming an urban chicken raiser. Right now, it’s just a little nugget of a thought, but I’m so excited about it. This could either be like the time I pined for a kitten (and pined for years) or like the time I decided I’d move to Austin after graduation and lo and behold, I did it. Apparently, there are tons of resources out there that’ll tell me everything I need to know about raising city chickens. There is even an organization in Austin for urban chicken raisers. This is all contingent on us staying in Austin, living in a house with a yard, and our landlord’s okay. But if all goes according to plan, I should get my first three chicks next Spring and scrambling up backyard coop fresh eggs in no time!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * ~v says:

    I did just this during my childhood. Built the incubator; bought fertilized eggs; cared for those eggs with regular turns each night; watched the emerging chicks and cared for them; built the coop; had about 8 or 9 hens and a rooster and I could lead them out to the front yard, lay down in the grass and then coral them back together and lead them to the backyard again. …all in the middle of Northeast Los Angeles.

    I’ll you this: get a good box and cover that damn rooster up each night or your neighbors won’t go along with it for long.

    Good luck,
    :o)

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  2. * ~A! says:

    grrr… that’s me.

    Somebody might want to change the name field back to the owner of the computer when they’re done using it…X(

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  3. * Rebekah says:

    ~A, the image of you as a child chicken wrangler is really cute.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  4. * ~v says:

    i did! it doesn’t register the change unless i comment with ~A….chicken wrangle!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  5. * ~A! says:

    I need a teeshirt now that says, “Former Child Chicken Wrangler”. Get on it, STAT.

    :o)

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  6. * thelou says:

    Agh! I so want a pet chicken. Named Geraldo.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  7. * david g says:

    I’m definitely going to name one Little Jerry Seinfeld.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  8. * david g says:

    That was me, ~R, not david g.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  9. * mike says:

    Chicken is yummy.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  10. * ~A says:

    Also, only one of our hens ever reliably produced any eggs. She was the scawniest and meanest, most stubborn hen of all of them and she managed to create a little hole in which to place her eggs so taking them always involved a little blood. (Just so you don’t go thinking that your little chicks are going to find you so beloved as to just scooch over whenever you get hungry.) :o)

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  11. * ~A says:

    This post ain’t no spring chicken no more.

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  12. * Kim says:

    It\’s a very good site!l

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  13. * alex says:

    Thank you very much.f

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 10 months ago


Leave a Reply

