Sidetracked



Animal Angst

Okay, so I’m still sort of looking at adopting another kitten, mostly because I really love baby animals.

I was scanning Craigslist ads for potential additions to the Wolf-Grant household and started feeling very sad for all of the animals about to go to the animal shelter and really angry with the people threatening to drop them off there. Charles irritates me sometimes, but I can’t imagine giving him up, especially not to a place where I know he’ll be scared and lonely. Especially not to a place where he’ll likely die. I know there are special circumstances in which people are simply unable to care for their animals. Or they somehow inherited unwanted animals. But for every hopeless person, there are a lot of cold-hearted jerks.

In other pet news, I took Charlie to the vet to get his booster shots the other day. I was a little nervous, since he hissed at and bit the vet tech last time.  I’ve been working on training him not to bite, but he still has a bit of an attitude. This trip proved unsuccessful in the manners department. The vet tech tried consoling him after giving him his shots and pills, but he remained locked in a rigid, curled pose, emitting a low growl from his core. Eventually, she gave up on trying to be friends, called him a jerk and shoved him in his carrier. He was extra nice to me the remainder of the day.

I’ve got the next two days off! Aside from working on a couple of projects, I plan to catch up on sleep, ride over to the Tour de Fat, rent Gilmore Girls season 4, and soak up some of this beautiful weather. Maybe I’ll pick out a pumpkin, too.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * ~v says:

    while i know it’s usually good to have more than one cat so they have friends, i should remind you (as a feeder, care-taker, i.e. slave of three cats), that baby animals aren’t babies for very long. eventually, they’re huge, spoiled, furry, shedding, whining animals.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  2. * Lauren says:

    Ooh, I want to go to the tour de fat!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  3. * Rebekah says:

    you guys should come down for the weekend and we’ll all go!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  4. * mike says:

    When we took Lula to the vet, she drooled all over the place—I’m talking a gallon of drool. The vet told us that happens when cat’s get nervous. So then she got her shots and we were on our way. And she puked for like two days straight. Poor girl.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  5. * ~A says:

    We never take Ferd in for shots. We don’t keep him inside, we don’t keep him outside. We haven’t removed his claws. He’s healthy, calm, clean and adorable 100% of the time. He owns the streets, the trees and our hearts.

    We’re pretty damn lucky. …so, like, of course, I can never own another cat ’cause all the good cat karma has pretty much gone into this situation.

    (Must, must, must remember to give Ferd extra love today before going camping.)

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  6. * Rebekah says:

    A, you should possibly get him checked out for heart worms. The woman at the vets office lectured me on how symptoms of heart worms aren’t always obvious, because I didn’t want to give Charlie regular heart worm medication. Cats get them from mosquito bites.

    But then again, there is a school of thought that animals are animals and shouldn’t be fussed over. My grandma gets annoyed with people treating their animals like people.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  7. * ~A says:

    I think he may get an annual check-up but the thinking is closer to your Grandma’s except that we figure we’re treating them like people: I don’t subject myself to shots and daily meds ’cause I figure it’ll actually cause me harm. I take myself in for check-ups but, other than that, just try and stay healthy.

    It is my hope, though, that my roommie will take Ferdinand in more often for check ups as he gets older. I’ll bring up the heart worms issue to her to make sure she’s on top of that, though.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  8. * lorie says:

    My cats don’t growl or bite, which is good. Instead, they shed about four pounds of fur and try to crawl up my chest and wrap themselves around my neck.

    On occasion I have just held them in the neck-wrap position and let the vet give them shots that way.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 8 months ago


Leave a Reply

