Sidetracked



Sacred Ground

I promise to post the chicken soup with mashed potatoes and no-knead bread recipes soon! What I have so far is on Dave’s desktop, and he’s been working a lot lately. But I promise. Soon!

In the meantime, I’ve got to learn how to make a damn good gumbo. Preferably, Cajun style. I have a couple of coworkers from Louisiana who scoffed when I told them I’d learn how to make a tasty gumbo. They scoffed and then laughed; good ways to piss me off. I told them I’m always up for a challenge, and I’d come up with something that would rival their daddies’ recipes. So here I am. While I’ve grown up eating gumbo, I don’t think we have a family recipe. And to be frank, I never liked the creole gumbo my dad occasionally makes.

These are uncharted waters, my friends. There’s something very exciting about creating my own concoction. I’ll keep you posted.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Lauren says:

    Hmm, that’s interesting, I’ve been on a need-to-learn-to-make-gumbo kick lately too.
    Apparently, the roux is the most important part, cause if you screw that up, then it’s all over. Oh, and if you are adding shrimp, you put those in about 10 minutes before it’s ready.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  2. * Rebekah says:

    I watched a video on You Tube of a guy making gumbo. He put a handful of shrimp in with uncased sausage and chopped it up with his spoon to make it blend with the roux. He added the rest of the shrimp later.

    Also, I heard Paul – one of my coworkers – saying that his dad used to make his own roux all the time, but now he buys the stuff in a jar and it tastes exactly the same. I saw this a lot online too. I think I want to learn how to make my own though.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  3. * Lauren says:

    Yeah – my sister said the pre-made roux is good.

    So…when you make your gumbo, send me a bowl please.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 8 months ago


Leave a Reply

