Sidetracked



Grumbly Grumble

It’s kind of ironic that I now have a cold or something cold-like. It actually feels like someone has taken a chisel to the sinuses on the right side of my face, funneled goo into my ear canals, and scraped my throat with bristly pipe cleaners. I am death warmed over, and the only thing that makes me feel okay is holding the ball of my hand firmly in my eye socket while sucking a mentholated cough drop and dreaming of the spicy soup I’ll have for my next meal.

I pulled myself together for work on Saturday. Three things that are annoying, but especially annoying when you feel like crap:

People who come up to the bar, pick up a beverage and ask, “Is this mine?” or “Which one is this?”

People who don’t tip. Especially the people that order 10 kids hot chocolates, five caramel apple spices, and six egg nog lattes and then proceed to trash the cafe while singing Christmas songs.

Kids who rummage through the donation box of toys, pull out the pogo stick and bounce around the store. I wish people would teach the little ones that not every toy on earth belongs to them.

I’ve got the holiday blues once again and an illness that ices the cake.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * mike says:

    Did you say cake?

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  2. * Lauren says:

    Mmmm. Cake.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  3. * Lauren says:

    also, you should be getting something special delivered soon. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  4. * ~A says:

    I hear there’s a very effective recipe for chicken soup somewhere out there; I bet that’d help.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  5. * Rebekah says:

    Yeah, too bad you don’t feel like cooking when you’re sick.

    Diagnosis: The Strep

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 10 months ago


Leave a Reply

