Sidetracked



Here comes another one

Happy New Year!

I’m back. I’m fresh. This is going to be a great year. To boost my chances of having better luck in 2008, I’m cooking up a pot of black eyed peas for dinner this evening. It’s Emeril’s recipe. We’re tight like that. I’ve resolved to volunteer at a soup kitchen regularly to gain more perspective. I also plan to make some things happen this year. Maybe get a good job, get out of this state, get eight hours of sleep.

Christmas was perfect. I get so uneasy about holidays that I planned to just stay home alone this year. I was fine with my decision until I watched It’s A Wonderful Life on Christmas Eve and got really down about the mean people in my life. But early Christmas morning my family surprised me by showing up on my doorstep with breakfast. Those guys were the best present.

Things just have a way of working out.

Update: The peas were a success! They might be the best black eyed peas I’ve ever tasted. I left the pickled pork meat out, because every butcher I asked about it looked at me like I was crazy. But I’m putting ham hocks in every dish from now on. Screw losing weight in 2008.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * verónica says:

    so, you’re moving to cali! yea!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 6 months ago
  2. * mike says:

    Calicago.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 6 months ago
  3. * Lauren says:

    Aw man, I didn’t get no peas this year. But I did eat some cabbage, so at least if I run into bad luck, I should have plenty of money….

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 6 months ago
  4. * Lauren says:

    Can you make me some chicken noodle soup with mashed potatoes?

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 6 months ago
  5. * Rebekah says:

    Are you sick? I would mail you some if I knew how.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 6 months ago
  6. * Lauren says:

    No, not sick. Just that it sounds so delicious.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 6 months ago
  7. * ~A says:

    oops, I haven’t commented here: congratulations on those peas! You can send them to 3743 Pueblo Ave L.A., CA 90032

    (Also, pickled pork you’d do yourself or, if not, go to the “ethnic” part of the grocery store – or part of town – and you’ll find plenty of pickled pork skin, feet, ears, snout – all your hearts desire.) (Also, I believe this should go for any black and brown “ethnic” town but definitely where there’s brown.)

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 6 months ago
  8. * ~A says:

    (Also, this will be in a jar, not from the butcher.)

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 6 months ago
  9. * ~v says:

    ew, hunny. ew.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 6 months ago
  10. * david g says:

    Yeah, I asked around at the HEB in our neighborhood and they were really vague about where I might find it in the store. I was too lazy to make the 10 min. drive to Fiesta.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 6 months ago


Leave a Reply

