Sidetracked



Loosing a friend

We picked up Scamp from a foster family when I was eight years old. I remember sitting in their dimly lit living room, my eyes glued on the precious little orange and white kitten, so excited to be taking him home. I’d wanted a kitten for years, I begged and pleaded with my parents to let me have one. They finally caved, and I was so grateful.

My parents were still together when we got Scamp. He was and is a way for me to remember life before and after the divorce. His name was Doobie, which I thought was completely weird, and told my dad to give him a new name. Like most new kitties, he was spry and fearless, scampering from room to room, always under foot, thus the name.

Not long after we got him, my parents separated and due to the stress, through the years, I’ve managed to block out a lot of my childhood spent with my cat. I know he was good to me, though. He slept on my pillow at night, massaging my head with his paws. His silky coat became a place to bury my face when I couldn’t deal with life. And he always remembered me when I’d come home for holidays and weekends.

After developing a large tumor behind his eye, he had to be put down a couple of weeks ago. My mom called to give me the news. It was so sad to hear, but I was very thankful she was able to do it for me. I couldn’t imagine having to take him to the doctor myself. Letting him go feels like letting go of a lot of things I was never ready to say goodbye to.

Now I have Charlie, who looks and acts so much like Scamp did. And I sort of think he came around at just the right time.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * mike says:

    This made me all teary eyed.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 6 months ago
  2. * verónica says:

    made me miss all my kitties from long ago

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 6 months ago
  3. * ~A says:

    I like the, “loosing” as in loosing a flock of birds from their cages or beasts from their restraints – this “mortal coil” so to speak.

    I’m sorry for your loss.

    Ferdinand’s never going to die.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 6 months ago
  4. * mike says:

    Neither is Charlie. Or Lula.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 6 months ago
  5. * Lauren says:

    Aww 😦

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 6 months ago
  6. * ~A says:

    I lost a friend recently. Still making me teary-eyed.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 6 months ago
  7. * david g says:

    ?

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 6 months ago


Leave a Reply

