Sidetracked



Finding confidence

Last night we partied it up with fellow baristas at Austin Karaoke, a freaking awesome whirlwind of colorful lights and loud jams that bounce and roll all over the room. I pretty much stayed planted in my seat most of the night for fear that if I ventured toward the front of the room someone would throw a microphone at me and cue Journey’s “Any Way You Want It.” Basically, I’m chicken shit.

But, if I had a group of great friends with me, I’d totally go back and sing my heart out.

In other news, I’m looking for a book that’s mostly about improving interviewing skills. Subject interviews, not job interviews, although I’d imagine they’d be pretty similar. My interviews for stories have always kind of sucked. I think it’s because most professional people intimidate me. I usually hit some lull in the conversation where I’m sure the interviewee is thinking I’m a complete idiot and no wonder I don’t do this full time. Dave and I scoured the racks at one bookstore and came away empty-handed. Any suggestions?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Lauren says:

    yeah – media bistro has some good tips, I believe.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 5 months ago
  2. * ~A says:

    media bistro might be good – you might also ask any bloggers who have any interview element to what they do… or, some of the old writers from back in Dallas. You ever meet Sarah Hepola? She’s great, and pretty personable. Hit her up at sarahhepola.com (two “hs”) and ask her. (Tell her you met her once in the Meridian Room or something and that you really loved her Mary Kay story for the Observer way back when.)

    Too bad Heather Schauf’s not around – she was an amazing interviewer. Totally fearless, totally right on.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 5 months ago
  3. * mike says:

    Begin every query with an accusatory “Isn’t it true…”

    Follow up with “Answer the question!”

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 5 months ago


Leave a Reply

