Sidetracked



I … I’m sorry, I can’t shake your hand right now. It’s germs.

For the couple of weeks, me and Kinky Friedman’s PR rep have been shooting e-mails back and forth. Actually, my e-mails have been more like swift volleys while hers flew back in slow motion. We finally got an interview scheduled for this Friday, and I was so excited. I’m still excited. But I woke up this morning feeling really shitty.

It all started about a week ago when I took a bite of my friend’s ice cream. The next day she was running a 103 degree fever. A few days later, my throat began to hurt. The following Friday, Dave went to an arcade and played games for a couple of hours. He touched joysticks soaked in Streptococcus and Escherichia coli, because, you know, boys are dirty. And that sore throat began to worsen. Then Dave came down with a cold. I took him on a little drive around town while we sipped Starbucks, only to find his drink in my hand by mistake. I immediately freaked out. The interview is in just a few days. I hate my life. I’m always sick. My life sucks. Aaaahhhh.

Yeah, so I woke up this morning with a full-blown-whateveritis, and the interview is so close I’m practically sitting on Kinky’s couch right now. Emergen-C doesn’t do a damn thing. I’ve been guzzling that stuff so often my pee is fizzy. And good ol’ Vitamin C and plenty of sleep can burn in hell.

I’m going try to see the doctor today to make sure it isn’t the third round of strep in six months. But if it’s just a cold, what’s a girl to do?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * mike says:

    Sounds like it’s time for a Steaken Noodle Sandwich.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  2. * ~A says:

    Who the hell are you writing for again? C’mon lady!

    and sleep. a lot. just friggin’ sleep – lay off the starf*cks and little drives and running errands and all that stuff and lay in bed, have some soup, drink some water and sleep ’til the interview.

    and tell us who you’re writing for…

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 8 months ago


Leave a Reply

