Sidetracked



Don’t Disappoint

It’s a decision we’ve been mulling over for a while, this decision to move to Chicago. I’m not afraid of living in a big city, I grew up in one of the biggest. I’m not afraid of falling flat on my face, I’ve done that over and over and, to my surprise, still get back up for more. I’m afraid of leaving Texas, where wherever I am I’m always at arms length to my family. I’m afraid of being even more left out of the loop with them than I already am. Mostly, I’m afraid of the never-ending winter.

This is a big adventure. I’m putting in all of my eggs, throwing caution to the wind, and going out on a limb.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Lauren says:

    It’s going to be a great experience. It’ll change your life. Winter makes you stronger. And it makes summer even sweeter.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 5 months ago
  2. * Mike says:

    I agree with Lauren.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 5 months ago
  3. * ~A says:

    just be sure you don’t count those eggs until they’ve hatched, jump from the frying pan into the fire or rock the baby right out of bed… and, um, buy a sweater.
    This all makes sense, actually; it’s the most sensible thing.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 5 months ago
  4. * Lauren for real says:

    Yay! The only good news this week! πŸ™‚

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 5 months ago
  5. * Rebekah says:

    Now I know how I’ll spend the long winter. Lots and lots of cooking: http://www.tastespotting.com/ πŸ™‚

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 5 months ago
  6. * Lauren for real says:

    Mmm. That made me hungry. They had one in there from Chicagoist — the calico pepper muffins…

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 5 months ago
  7. * Rebekah says:

    I can’t get over the Saffron Risotto: http://almondcorner.blogspot.com/2008/02/saffron-risotto.html

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 5 months ago
  8. * Lauren for real says:

    Mike and I have a big bag of risotto rice from Italy that my dad got me, but I’m afraid… risotto always sounds so hard.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 5 months ago
  9. * ~A says:

    This news has gone over like a pot of cooking rice.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 5 months ago
  10. * Amy Bo Bamy says:

    I lived in Chicago for two years, away from all family as I knew it (left them all behind in Japan at the time), and I must say — it ranks right up there as one of the best times of my life…Dreadful winters and all. I think you’ll enjoy it lots. πŸ™‚

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 4 months ago


Leave a Reply

