Sidetracked



I’m Hungry

My ass is getting larger. I can no longer blame not having cigarettes in my life to jump start my metabolism every hour or so. It’s my own fault. Why do they have to make beer and pastries so tasty. And then there’s this thing called the Saucer Bratzel at the Flying Saucer. I will spare you the details, because you’ll want to recreate it in your kitchen.

I made a batch of healthy bran muffins last weekend to have for breakfasts. They didn’t taste very good, so I added a shit load of brown sugar to the second batch. Much better. But now I can’t eat them.

So, once again, I’m trying to lose some of the weight. I just can’t bring myself to buy new work clothes. I refuse to go up a size. It’s a battle between me and my stomach. Right now, my stomach is whimpering and wondering, “Why do you hate me?”

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * ~A says:


    (Disclaimer: these are suggestions to be helpful and encouraging. I’m not putting this here ’cause I think you couldn’t do all this yourself (again).)

    Keep food all around and eat whatever you want any time you want
    But – the food could be:
    celery, carrots, Water, yogurt, Water, apples, bananas, almonds, almond butter (or real peanut butter) blueberries, cranberries, salami slices, Water, bell pepper slices, etc. –
    eat all you want of those everyday throughout the day; you’ll find you’re content throughout the day and less prone to being tempted by the sweets at work, etc. (You can keep your coffee but try and cut down if you know you drink excessive amounts.)

    For breakfast have two eggs over mixed greens every morning. I add a bit of pepper to the eggs and fresh salsa over everything and that makes it perfect.

    For dinner have either salmon or organic chicken breasts – again, with mixed greens and, if you like, steamed veggies like broccoli, asparagus, cauliflower, etc. If you miss carbs so much you can make some couscous and mix in just a bit of that fresh salsa for color and taste. Don’t use dressing for the salad. Instead, use a squeeze of lime and a little balsamic. Again, that salsa trick works really well for me but you could skip that and mince some apple up to toss with the salad and crumble some walnuts on top. …really, there’s a lot you can do with the salad and keep it healthy.

    You can make dessert of mixed frozen berries (about 1 cup), yogurt (about 1/2 cup), sugar (a tablespoon or two), ice (about 2 cups). You can have a bit of that two hours before bed.

    Have a full glass of water each morning and each night before bed. Have about 64 oz. of water throughout the day.

    Stay away from anything processed if you can (incl. breads, refined sugars) and don’t be afraid to pick up a bit of fiber to get rid of what the beer, sausage and pastries have left behind in your system that’s adding to your waist line. (If you still feel the need to drink have vodka and soda water with lime; stay away from any alcohol with color.)

    In fact, you could go ahead and do a cleanse to help you on the short term. This is a good product/program that’s pretty cheap, should be found easily and it really easy (i.e. won’t make you feel like crap). It runs 2 weeks.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  2. * ~A says:

    **Fresh Salsa = This – not anything you can pour.

    and, of course, you can have beef if you want but it should be lean and organic; the hormones in most food is gonna keep your body from working well and shedding the extra bulk. I just find chicken to be easier since it cooks so fast and I can make it so many ways (with a curry or other natural simmer sauce, with a marinara sauce and a bit of cheese, in some pad thai…).

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  3. * Lauren says:

    I’m hungry.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  4. * Lauren says:

    ~A, please come cook some dinner for me.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  5. * Rebekah says:

    ~A, those are some good suggestions. I don’t know why it never occurred to me to make my own salsa. It’s going to be really hard to stay away from beer though.

    Food Confession: I made an Italian Cream Cake Frappacino at work today using leftover birthday cake and the Creme base. I’m out of control.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  6. * ~A says:

    :o) I’d love to cook for everyone. …unfortunately, I always seem to bomb as soon as I cook for anyone outside of just on a whim.

    R. I’m not really good about preparing ahead of time but buying veggies and cutting it all up into a salsa as soon as I’m home is something I want to be in the habit of doing. (and, to be honest, I saved the container of my favorite salsa so I could just use the same ingredients and refill it! ;o) )

    I don’t even know what to make out of that last comment. …but it sounds like something that would be very, very lovely.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 4 months ago


Leave a Reply

