Sidetracked



The heat, my god, the heat!

Mother Nature has been too kind lately with her sunshine and breeze and 70-degreeness. She spoiled us with soft hugs and trays of cookies. For a couple of months, we began each day by opening a window for Charlie. This soon became his favorite thing. He’d press his body against the screen and watch the birds, occasionally hopping down to rub his butt against our legs. He’s never that nice to us.

So imagine my anger when I stepped outside yesterday into a sauna. I forgot how the sweltering heat can send me into a fit of rage. It’s not just me either. People are ordering arm loads of iced drinks and frappuccinos. Drive-thru customers are becoming surlier. The wasps are coming out of hibernation, and trust me, they’re pissed. And Charlie was really turning a corner with his manners. He wasn’t so mean anymore. But he thinks we’ve closed the window to punish him and he’s not happy about it. Next thing you know, he’ll be using drugs and telling us that we ruined his life. I’m up to my elbow in scratches, my feet are swollen from water retention, and my once shiny, pretty bangs are now plastered with sweat to my forehead.

I think the only real answer to all of this is to build a giant climate-controlled dome over Texas. Either that or move.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * thelou137 says:

    That’s what we say about Chicago in the winter re the dome thing.

    Today, it’s 70 and super sunny and a slight wonderous breeze is blowing. Yay!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 6 months ago
  2. * mike says:

    The air smells sweet and earthy. The treetops are filling out. The Frisbees are flying.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 6 months ago
  3. * thelou137 says:

    I’m ready for y’all to be here.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 6 months ago
  4. * Rebekah says:

    Me too! It’s going to be here before we know it. It’s gonna be great!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 6 months ago
  5. * jen says:

    And then your bangs will be bouncy again! (Saw that good pic on theLou flicker).

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 5 months ago


Leave a Reply

