Sidetracked



Rude Awakening

It’s 4:45 a.m. and I’ve been asleep for four hours. My cell phone rings which immediately wakes me up. I’m a deep sleeper and sleep through my alarm regularly, but it’s hard to sleep through an early morning phone call. Something is wrong.

I don’t recognize the number at first, and the person leaves a message. It then clicks that it was work calling. I call work back.

Supervisor on Duty: Thanks for calling ___, this is ___, how can I help you?

Me: ___, it’s Rebekah.

Supervisor on Duty: Hi, Rebekah.

Me: You called me?

Supervisor on Duty: Yes, I was calling to make sure you’re coming to work.

Me: I’m not supposed to be there until later.

*My heart’s racing as I start to panic.*

Supervisor on Duty: Uh, actually it shows here that you’re supposed to be here now.

Me: I’m so sorry, I must have written down p.m. instead of a.m. on my schedule. I’ll be there as fast as I can!

*My piece of shit phone immediately cuts out. I fly out of bed and scramble to find work clothes in the dark, all the while cursing my shitty phone and myself for writing down the wrong time. After turning my phone off and turning it back on, I call work back to apologize for piece of shit phone cutting out.*

Supervisor on Duty: Thanks for calling ___, this is ___, how can I help you?

Me: ___, this is Rebekah. Sorry, my phone cut out.

Supervisor on Duty: Oh, no, I’m sorry. You’re actually not supposed to be here until 4:45 p.m.

Me: ARE. YOU. SERIOUS.

Supervisor on Duty: Yeah, I am. Sorry about that.

Me: Uh huh. Bye.

*I crawl back in bed, taking deep breaths as I try to slow my heart rate. I’m muttering curses under each breath.*

Me to Dave: I’m going to wring his fucking neck next time I see him.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * mike says:

    What an ass. Seems like you would doublecheck something like that before calling and inevitably waking someone up.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 5 months ago
  2. * lauren says:

    oops. that was me.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 5 months ago
  3. * ~A says:

    1. Dave to Me*: Har to Double-shot, no foam Har
    (*you, not me)

    2. WTF:
    Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)
    * A Rude Awakening…. Dr. Michael L. Brown
    * the Church of America does not need a Great Awakening. We need a Rude Awake…
    * The Rude Awakening of Optimus Prime

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 5 months ago


Leave a Reply

