Sidetracked



We’re here!

Phew! Ugh. I’m back. But barely.

Right now, I’m sitting in a nice little coffee shop around the corner from our apartment. It’s been a whirlwind of a week, y’all. Packing, yelling, driving, moving, painting, unpacking, shuffling, arranging, sweating, swearing, feasting, meeting, greeting, chugging, working, hauling…these are things that have occupied every second of my time for the past 10 days. I’m exhausted. And the thing I’m currently stalling on is sitting in the laundromat for a few hours. Maybe I’ll pick up a trashy magazine on the way.

Chicago is almost everything I wanted it to be. Hopefully, it will meet my expectations by presenting a career on a silver platter soon. Lord knows, I’ve paid my dues by now. Haven’t I paid my dues?

But, even though a dollop of dread is taking up space in my stomach because I’m trying so hard to fit in at a job I don’t care for, I’m looking out the window at the El and the rain and the passersby and thinking about how a little bit of suffering in this massive city is much better than it was in Texas.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Lauren says:

    Venti coffee with Roomie!

    (p.s. I told Jason about that and he didn’t seem to understand why it was annoying. He likes to put an ie on the end of everything…)

    Yay for Chicago!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  2. * ~A says:

    Congrats on the move.
    …I guess that’s what the missed call from David must have been about.

    good times.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 4 months ago


Leave a Reply

