Sidetracked



Let’s get this show on the road

I revised, reviewed, and finished The List. Some of the items have been borrowed from other people’s lists, but every item is something I’d really like to do. The only thing I had trouble putting on the list is number 100. I don’t know if I’ll ever see that happen and don’t think I have a lot of control over it, but my mother always says that “if you want something, you have to put it out there to the Universe.”

Here we go:

1. Write a book.

2. Get married. 

3. Live and work on a farm for a month.

4. Whale watching in Alaska.

5. Own a beach house.

6. Work full-time at a job I really love.

7. Have a child.

8. Become financially independent.

9. Go back to school.

10. Become fluent in another language.

11. Cross country train trip.

12. Practice violin again.

13. Swim with dolphins.

14. Have a sea glass collection that rivals my grandmother’s.

15. Adopt a puppy.

16. Sing karaoke.

17. Eat sushi in Japan.

18. Watch the sun rise over the ocean in Hawaii.

19. Run a marathon.

20. Make my home beautiful.

21. Hug a Redwood.

22. Make a quilt.

23. Grow a garden.

24. Sip a macchiato in Italy.

25. Volunteer once a week for a year.  

26. Build a website.

27. Practice yoga/meditation regularly.

28. Snorkel or SCUBA dive in a tropical place.

29. Help someone’s campaign for political office.

30. Habitually look up words I don’t know.

31. Learn to dance.

32. Eat an Akaushi steak.

33. Take a trip with just my brother and sister.

34. Backpacking in Spain.

35. Turn a boring piece of furniture into something interesting.

36. Own a piano and learn to play again.

37. Start a business with friends.

38. Have everyone I love living nearby.

39. Be debt free.

40. Hold the headstand pose in yoga.

41. Collect orchids.

42. Make a really good gumbo.

43. Cross country road trip with friends.

44. Write for a living.

45. Send thank you notes to teachers who inspired me.

46. Have weekly dinners with family.

47. Have a bonfire on the beach.

48. Have a wall of photographs taken by Dave.

49. Throw a surprise party for someone.

50. Spend a month in another country.

51. Donate money to a charity.

52. Give up my car for at least one month.

53. Visit the Eiffel Tower.

54. Raise chickens.

55. Grow my own produce.

56. Swim naked in an ocean.

57. Get rid of my scale.

58. Learn to play Bluegrass.

59. Visit the Eqyptian Pyramids.

60. Go crabbing.

61. Save for a really rainy day.

62. Lay in the grass with friends at the lake, watch for shooting stars. (Already done this, but want to do it again.)

63. Plant a tree.

64. Learn to surf.

65. Hot air balloon ride.

66. Smoke a Cuban cigar.

67. Visit India.

68. See the Statue of Liberty.

69. Coffee in Colombia.

70. Repay my dad for help with college tuition.

71. Interview my parents and write their story.

72. Give a champagne toast.

73. Annual Fourth of July picnics with friends/family.

74. Plant bulbs in a public space.

75. Swim regularly.

76. Change a tire.

77. Learn to play poker well.

78. Remove money as a concern.

79. Go on an African safari.

80. See the Northern Lights.

81. Be interviewed for a publication.

82. Take tap dancing lessons.

83. Buy myself flowers once a week for a month.

84. Read a book by an important author I should have read in school.

85. Interview a homeless person and write their story.

86. Buy a house.

87. Have at least two friends who are up for anything at any time.

88. Kiss someone on a crowded street.

89. Hold someone’s hand while they give birth.

90. Join a book club.

91. Learn where my ancestors came from.

92. Host a dinner party for at least 10 people.

93. Take a cooking class.

94. Have a library in my house.

95. Float in a pool/ocean/lake on my stomach/back for as long as I want without someone thinking I’m dead/strange or just not care what anyone thinks.

96. Have a drawer full of really nice undies.

97. Give someone a job.

98. Move for someone I love.

99. Lie in the grass and listen to Radiohead live.

100. See my whole family at peace with each other. 

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Thirty Before Thirty « Home Sweet Apartment pingbacked on 5 years, 6 months ago

Comments

  1. * ~A says:

    This could get you a step closer to #5: http://latimesblogs.latimes.com/laland/2008/06/500-moves-you-i.html

    …which would take care of or get you closer to 86, 95, 84, 56, 47, 18, 13 and 14!

    Man, you’ve got lots here that can be bundled – like going on a trip with your siblings + backpack through Spain. …and, you could kick your folks out of home and tick 71 and 85 off your list at the same time!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  2. * ~A says:

    *on that link – see 1st line of 3rd paragraph

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  3. * Rebekah says:

    That’s it! I’m buying a beach house in Hawaii!

    But how would that help me accomplish 84?

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 3 months ago
  4. * ~A says:

    Oh – I meant 85. You kick your folks out of home and then write their story and you’ll have written the story of your parents while also accomplishing the story of a homeless person …persons!

    :o)

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 3 months ago
  5. * ~A says:

    oh, wait. sorry. you’re right. I don’t know what I was going on about there.

    Oh, now, I got it – I must have meant 64! Yeah, that’s the one!

    …I just noticed 88 – that’s on a list? What, you two too busy putting beer to your lips during SXSW to stop and have a peck in a crowd? …ah man, that brings back a memory. *sigh

    back to work now. 😦

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 3 months ago
  6. * Rebekah says:

    Dave and I have probably kissed in a crowded spot…but I dunno. Just felt like making it a memorable thing to cross off.

    What memory?

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 3 months ago
  7. * ~A says:

    Oh no one wants to hear about it here but it involves me; a girl whose name I don’t recall (Rosaline?); Paris, FR; and two kisses in particular: one for a photo in front of a sweets shop near the Sacre Couer where I lifted her and stood her up on a short pole of some kind so we’d match up and another in the middle of the road (on a slim median) outside the Louvre just as it started to rain lightly.

    *sigh. Well, now I agree that “kissing on a crowed street” should remain on everyone’s to do list. :o)

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 3 months ago
  8. * ~A says:

    ha. I just noticed you added another thing to your list just in posting the list:
    “Get your show on the road”

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 3 months ago
  9. * Rebekah says:

    You’re right. I do need to get it in gear.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 3 months ago


Leave a Reply

