Sidetracked



How I spent summer

When you live in a city where winters are infamous, it’s hard not to notice the summer coming to an end. Labor Day is just around the corner, and I can sense everyone’s anxiety about the cold weather to come. But I think I’ve packed in enough stuff this summer, and I’m ready for what’s next. Here’s a recap on the last three months:

1. Said goodbye to some great people and my home, and moved halfway across the country in search of adventure and a better job market. Found adventure, survived the trip, and learned that the job market sucks everywhere.

2. Somewhat squashed my fear of public transportation and riding a bike in the big city. Saved some money on gas.

3. Discovered how lovely soy milk and chai can be when combined, thanks to Julius Meinl.

4. Had almost daily emotional breakdowns/panick attacks over money/job but kept on truckin’.

5. Bought my first piece of furniture ever: an overpriced black and green futon off Craigslist.org.

6. Watched two of my favorite people make lifelong commitments to each other, boldly going where many have gone before.

7. Sipped beer and read a good book on the back porch, while Charlie sniffed plants, rocks and the breeze.

8. Ate foie gras. On a hot dog.

9. Watched fireworks on the beach.

10. Decided I’m OK with a couple of extra pounds if it means I can eat good food and drink good beer.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * lauren says:

    Now it’s time for a kick ass Fall.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 11 months ago


Leave a Reply

