Sidetracked



Separation Anxiety

Dave’s been on a canoing trip with his father for the past seven days. It’s been sort of nice not having someone get all tense when I walk around the house naked with the windows open or try to sabotage my diet by offering to buy me a few beers every night. But Charlie, the cat who’s been plotting my death since he was just a few weeks old, has started to take a liking to me since his playmate left. See, Dave doesn’t mind when Charlie bites and tears at the veins in his wrist. Dave calls this “playing”. I call it “attempted murder”.

So Charlie is bored. He keeps looking at me like, “Now what will we do?” The passed couple of nights I promised him we’d play, but then the sun would go down and the light in the living room doesn’t work and we can’t very well play in the dark, can we? He greets me at the door when I come home each day, throwing his long body on the ground and showing me how good he can stretch. He circles my ankles any time I venture toward the kitchen to fix a snack. He even sits at my feet while I use the restroom, peering over my knees at me. Right now, he’s lying in his tent with his head poking out the window and watching me type.

It’s not that I’m a bad cat mama, and Dave’s a good cat dad. I’m just better at nurturing, and he’s got a higher tolerance for pain. I’m counting down the days until he gets home. Charlie will be so happy.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * ~A says:

    all better now?

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  2. * lorie says:

    Best tool ever for a cat who likes to play attempted murder: thick work gloves. My parents have a cat like Charlie and to spare their hands and arms, they got a big pair of heavy work gloves they use. When they’re wearing them, they can get as rough as they want to with Steve the cat and he doesn’t hurt them at all.

    Now, Steve’s a lot gentler on bare hands and arms because he knows that when the gloves come out it is ON.

    | Reply Posted 9 years ago
  3. * Rebekah says:

    Hah! That’s a great idea! I wonder why we didn’t think of that before.

    | Reply Posted 9 years ago


Leave a Reply

