Sidetracked



Mind-bending 2009

Happy belated New Year from me, Dave and Ben!

cimg1765

My original resolution was to be on time, all the time. I’m notoriously late and have been known to stall so much that I’ve been late for job interviews. I was significantly late for my first date with Dave, which caused me so much stress that I really won’t forget that night. My dad once told me that being late for a meeting with someone tells that person that you don’t value their time. That always stuck with me in a way that makes me feel guilty and anxious.

So, I changed my resolution. I’m a very anxious person. So much so that I’ve considered taking medication for my almost constant anxiety. Instead of going that route, I’m going to work on staying in the moment. Every time anxiety starts welling up or depression tightens it’s grip, I’m going to try to bring my mind back to what’s happening that very moment. To me, this is the ultimate meditative practice, which will hopefully help me overcome those issues.

Or, at the very least, it might help me be on time, all the time.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * mike says:

    It’s funny that you lament your chronic lateness in a post that begins “Happy belated New Year…”

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 5 months ago
  2. * Rebekah says:

    I thought so too. šŸ™‚

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 5 months ago
  3. * ~A says:

    I think you’re on the right track, lady.
    Good luck! šŸ™‚

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 5 months ago
  4. * mike says:

    What, no more blogging in 2009?

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 5 months ago
  5. * Rebekah says:

    I just don’t have anything to say! My life revolves around working and waiting for the season premier of Lost. Lame.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 5 months ago


Leave a Reply

